Department of Social Justice & Empowerment & Tribal Affairs

Organisational SetUp

The Ministry of Social Justice & Empowerment is entrusted with the welfare, social Justice and empowerment of disadvantaged and marginalized section of the society viz. Scheduled Caste, Backward Classes, Persons with Disabilities, Senior Citizens, and Victims of Drug Abuse etc.

Basic objective of the policies, programmes, law and institution of the Indian welfare system is to bring the target groups into the mainstream of development by making them self-reliant.

The Ministry is headed by Shri Thaawar Chand Gehlot, Cabinet Minister and ably assisted by three Ministers-of-State namely Shri Vijay Sampla , Shri Krishan Pal Gurjar and Shri Ramdas Athawale .


There are two departments viz. Department of Social Justice and Empowerment and Department of Empowerment of Persons with Disabilities under the Ministry of Social Justice and Empowerment. Smt. G. Latha Krishna Rao(IAS, KN:1982) is the Secretary of Department of Social Justice & Empowerment. Shri N.S. Kang(IAS, PB:1983), is the Secretary of Department of Empowerment of Persons with Disabilities.